Load map add-ons only when player is in range

OK, I’m new to server development. Unlike many of the newbies I have seen around our universe, I am in no real hurry to open my doors to the rest of the world. I want to get it right. So I have a bunch of questions, ideas, musings and brain droppings. I’ll be posting some of the things I have been pondering. :thinking:

I want to have a good variety of interiors and custom map additions. But those take a good bit of resources. Is there a way to limit when a map add-on is loaded, like only when there is a player around to see it? It’s kind of silly to have a bunch of things in the city if the bulk of the players are up in the county.

Another option I was thinking about, can map add-ons be loaded an unloaded at will from a script? I was thinking tying something into an AOP script could load and unload items depending on where the AOP was set. Unload the zones that are not in play. That would serve also as an incentive to herd the cats to where you want them to play.

1 Like

Map addons already only ‘load’ when you’re nearby, as GTA uses a streaming game engine.

If you’re thinking this is somehow not the case, make sure you’ve made a cache file for your resource (see save_gta_cache) and that the streamingExtents for .ymap files don’t somehow fill up the entire map.

OK now I feel like a moron. I just assumed that the more you tack onto a server, the more RAM is used and the more load on your server’s hardware. Is that not the case?

I think I understand what save_gta_cache <resource name> does. It helps things load quicker on the clientside for the player by creating a cache. How does this address the workload for the server?

Or am I just wrong? I can accept that. :slight_smile: I admit freely that I am new and have no idea what I am doing with some of this stuff. This is why I am not in a hurry.

Disclaimer: I am neither a developer nor a programmer.
</dave>