Setting and syncing client/server values on an entity

Hi, I’m new to FiveM programming. I was wondering what the method of sending values attached to entities to the client.

The reason I’m asking is that I am working on an RP Name script, the server gets the name from the database, but I need to find a way to network the name (attached to the entity) to all clients.

Any help is appriciated.
Cheers.

1 Like

Decors
http://runtime.fivem.net/doc/reference.html#_0x05661B80A8C9165F

1 Like

I can’t see any function here that supports strings though, just bools and integers.

Like a first and last name? Or like an entity name?

A first and last name type system, I guess you could convert the string into numbers but I have no idea how todo that then convert it back on the client.

Make a server sided table and save the first and last name to their server id.

Yes, but how could I network their name to all clients?

Yes. You can definitely do that.

Yes, but how could I?

Do you know what a table is? And do you know how to insert data into those table? And do you also know how to use a loop to search through the table and return data?

Yes, but I’m asking how to network string values onto an entity.

You can’t. You will need to convert the string to some integer form and then convert back to a string on the other end.

What @xander1998 is suggesting (I think) is you can instead store the names of each player in a table. You could then store the index ID of that table as a decorator on the player. When reading the decorator, just fetch the table row for the name.

Yeah, I though about doing that, but how can I send the clients the names from the server (via SQL database).

You would need some mysql resource (like the mysql async one) to fetch the information on the server side.