New to LUA Dev - Need basic help

So I’m new to LUA Development, trying to teach myself the basics before I get stuck in. I’m trying to set up a basic teleport script (currently with just one location set) and I want the script to know if the player is in a vehicle and whether to teleport the player alone or the vehicle with the player in it but it’s not working. I’m only teleporting the player.

Here is where I am at.

local v1 = vector2(101.94, -1937.1)
local v2 = vector3(101.94, -1937.1, 20.8)
local v3 = vector4(101.94, -1937.1, 20.8, 47.78)

local player = PlayerPedId()
local vehicle = GetVehiclePedIsUsing(player)
local pedInVehicle = false;

if vehicle == nil then
pedInVehicle = true;
else
pedInVehicle = false;
end

RegisterCommand(‘tp’, function()
– if player is in vehicle
if pedInVehicle == false then
– teleport vehicle
SetEntityCoords(player, v3, false, false, false, false)
– else player is not in vehicle
else
– teleport player
SetEntityCoords(vehicle, v3, false, false, false, false)
end
end)

I have also tried

if IsPedInVehicle(player, vehicle, true) then
pedInVehicle = true
else
pedInVehicle = false
end

Hello, you might be interested in this native : SetPedCoordsKeepVehicle - Natives @ Cfx.re Docs

I left you some notes so you can hopefully see and understand why I did something, if you have any questions please let me know, I am happy to help :slight_smile: .

local locations = { -- Creating a table to make things more "orginized".
    v1 = vec2(101.94, -1937.1),
    v2 = vec3(101.94, -1937.1, 20.8),
    v3 = vec4(101.94, -1937.1, 20.8, 47.78) -- [Vector 4 is x, y, z, HEADING so you can't use then when something asks for an x, y, z unless you specify such as locations.v3.x, locations.v3.y, etc]
}

RegisterCommand('tp', function()
    --[[
        Always put your variables inside of a command when possible, 
        so it checks when the command is used, so for example, 
        if you check if the player is in the vehicle before the command is used,