Interested in learning Lua and developing a server, HOWEVER

Hi, I’m new to FiveM and to GTA V as well. I came from SA after I heard about this mod and I’m an ex server developer there (in a popular multiplayer mod). I’m wondering if FiveM offers the same level of freedom multiplayer mods from San Andreas offer (textdraws, custom maps, large server-sided systems…). From what I’ve seen on Youtube, all servers are still based in the game’s main city and really the environment feels the same in every server. I’m wondering if you could set up a server that has medieval settings and almost makes you think it’s a different game.
I still haven’t taken a look at the wiki and I’ve never used Lua before. What are the current limits that FiveM has in terms of scripting (if that’s the right term)?

1 Like

SAMP or MTA?

FiveM can feel a lot like MTA. You can use Lua, js or C#, which ever you feel more comfortable with (but lua has more tutorials and example code).

The main issue is not FiveM, but rather server owners lacking…creativity, or players not wanting to try new stuff.

Not sure about making it feel like a different game, but you can stream custom models, custom ymaps, custom clothes and I think weapons too. The game already has melee weapons, so streaming a sword shouldn’t be that hard, and you can always attach a shield object to the player using AttachEntityToEntity - Natives @ Cfx.re Docs, I guess.

Honestly, the game doesn’t limit you that much. I remember there are some limits on the amount of clothes a ped can have, @grzybeek knows more about that, I don’t really like modding, but you can always stream more peds.

1 Like