[HELP] FiveM alternative to .ini files from SP mods or how to store script settings?

Hello everyone, I am very new to FiveM and need help.

I am porting my ViewPointV mod from SP to FiveM, and currently looking for the best approach to storing client settings.

The way I handled this in SP is by having a few .ini files that I was reading and writing to/from, which is impossible in FiveM due to IO being blocked.

I understand that I’ll have to store the settings server side, but I don’t understand how would that work?
Will there be a separate file for every user? My settings contain parameters like offsets for the cameras, amount of camera shake etc. I want the user to be able to configure those parameters for themselves client side, via the mod’s menu, and of course I want the settings to persist.

Thank you in advance!

Hi.

Easiest way would be to use KVP to store settings client-side directly. (assuming you don’t care that a malicious user can change their settings without your consent)

(keep in mind that GetKvp_* natives are different based on the type of value that you want to receive. Int, float, string, …)

KVPs are shared between servers if they are stored client-side. So, if a player joins a server with your ViewPointV resource, changes settings, and joins another server with the same resource, the settings will carry.

Additionally, you can store them server-side, for each player, either using json files (IO is not blocked server-side), or in a database, like mysql. Depending on what you need to save, this might be overkill.

1 Like

KVPs are exactly what I was looking for!
Thank you for the quick and helpful response.

1 Like

I struggle a bit with understanding how these natives work, if you could help me a bit more, I would be very thankful :slight_smile:

Is there a possibility to create multiple KVP files?
How do I pass a specific KVP file to the KVP getter/setter natives, so it will know where to save\load from?