FiveM Layer 7 vulnerability

Hello, I have been an administrator of the Ukader Network (TheUrbanCity RP) community game server for a few months.

I will tell you about an administrative situation that has happened to us:
In the last week before publishing this content, we were affected by multiple crashes (cyberattacks) towards our servers. Initially, we reinforced with our service provider the mitigation security of all incoming traffic. It is worth it that our data center is located in Chile and our community is the same.

After many attempts to tune into the mitigation service, we realized that these attacks were only on the FiveM service and not on the server itself. Investigating through the magic of the internet, we found the problem.

Thanks to the fact that FiveM opens web services, such as (IP: PORT / info.json) or (IP: PORT / players.json) our ‘attackers’ carry out layer 7 attacks on web services. One of the first options as a programmer and server administrator for years was to compile one of the FiveM libraries. (Deleting the affected web services). Although we have not tested in production and really do not know the impact that this can generate, I make the report to:

• Allow administrators to block web services generated with the server.
  • (or) allow to change the port of those services.

We believe the servers are having these issues due to those affected services, I will leave the found videos of ‘Penetration Test Services’ doing exactly what we have mentioned.

Videos:

Note: We are not responsible for any of these videos, and they are only added to corroborate the information we have described.

Beforehand thank you very much.

Discord: AlexBanPer#4245
Email: a.martinez@ukader.net