Need help ! Trying to figure out how to create a useable item that transform another

Hello ! :slight_smile:
Soooo here’s the deal,

I’m trying to figure out how to create an item that will transform another. For example … If i’d like to use rolling paper to roll up weed and give a joint. A useable item from the inventory HUD…

I’m pretty new at scripting and all that so i’m quite lost ! and i looked for tutorials or help but all i find is how to add basic need items like food and drinks that u can consume.

At first i tried to modify the code for those basicneeds items in an attempt. Here’s what i tried:

ESX.RegisterUsableItem(‘rollingpaper’, function(source)
local xPlayer = ESX.GetPlayerFromId(source)

xPlayer.removeInventoryItem('weed', 1)
xPlayer.removeInventoryItem('rollingpaper', 1)
xPlayer.addInventoryItem('joint', 1)

end)

But yeaahh … that didn’t work and i dont really know what else i’d need to add in client files etc… If someone can refer me to a guide or give me an example that i could modify it would be amazing :smiley:

What exactly didn’t work with this? If esx is not nil and you have the items in your database and inventory it should remove the weed and rolling paper then give you a joint, although its prob best to add some checks to make sure you have these items in your inventory before trying to remove them. I could try help you with that if you would like?

Hi! Maybe try to put a Citizen.Wait(0) between the remove and addInventoryItem, or trigger a message. I checked the code, should be working.

That’d be awesome ! :slight_smile: And i just couldnt use the item at all, nothing happened. I’ve set that code in the basic needs script tho … maybe i have to make a script only for that? but then i have no clue what to put as a client file, server file and ressource etc :o

Did you restart the server after adding this usable item to your resource? Is there any errors in the server console?

I did ! and no there was no errors.